Tuesday, January 27, 2009

And the Award Goes To...

New York Times bestsellers and Pulitzer Prizewinners aren't the only books in the literary world to get awards. Just announced yesterday - the Youth Media Awards, put together by the American Library Association.

The big three are:

Newbery Medal - for the "most distinguished contribution to American literature for children."
The Graveyard Book, by Neil Gaiman.
New YA Fic Gaiman CHE

The Caldecott Medal - for the artist of the "most distinguished American picture book for children."
The House in the Night, illustrated by Beth Krommes, written by Susan Marie Swanson.
Easy Swanson WMB
E Swanson MTC

The Printz Award - for a book that "exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature."
Jellicoe Road, by Melina Marchetta.
YA Marchetta MPL
YA Fic Marchetta ROG

The full lists of all the awards and honor books can be found here, at the American Library Association's Association for Library Service to Children Blog.

No comments: